Dave ExtraCash: what $100 really costs
Dave’s ExtraCash is legally an overdraft on a Dave account, not a loan. Every transfer carries a 5% overdraft fee with a $5 minimum, and the membership is up to $5 a month on top. Sending it instantly to Dave Checking is free; sending it to an outside debit card adds 1.5%. On its published terms, $100 delivered instantly and repaid in 14 days costs $10.00, or 261% APR; waiting for the standard transfer costs $10.00.
Fees and terms checked · Not financial advice
Dave ExtraCash · instant
$100 advance · repaid in 14 days · instant delivery
10.00 ÷ 100.00 × (365 ÷ 14) × 100 = 260.7%
Dave ExtraCash · if you wait
$100 advance · repaid in 14 days · standard delivery
10.00 ÷ 100.00 × (365 ÷ 14) × 100 = 260.7%
In our ranking of cash advance apps, that puts Dave at 7 of 14 by the cost of a $100 instant advance. See the full ranking or change the amount and dates in the calculator.
Every published price
Quoted from Dave’s own pages, checked November 8, 2026. Each line links to where it says so.
| Charge | Price | From Dave’s page |
|---|---|---|
| Dave membership (needed for advances) | $5.00/month | Your Dave membership, for up to $5 per month, provides access to valuable services including access to ExtraCash™, Income Opportunity Services, and Financial Management Services, such as budgeting and low balance alerts.support.dave.com |
| Overdraft fee (5%, min $5) | $5.00 on $100 | An ExtraCash OD Service Fee, or overdraft fee as described in your account agreement and statements, will be assessed in the amount of 5% of the transfer (minimum $5), which is added to your settlement total.support.dave.com |
| Instant to Dave Checking | $0.00 on $100 | To Dave Checking. Instant. No fee.support.dave.com |
| Express to an outside debit card (1.5%) | $1.50 on $100 | To your External debit card. Receive within 1 hour. 1.5% of the transfer amountsupport.dave.com |
| Standard delivery (2–3 business days) | $0.00 | To your External bank via ACH. Receive it in 2-3 business days. No fee.support.dave.com |
| Tips | not stated | No tip is mentioned in the current Coastal ExtraCash agreement (Last Updated July 1, 2026) or the help-centre fee article. The older Evolve agreement (Last Updated February 26, 2026) still says: 'you are still responsible for ensuring that you cover any negative balance on your ExtraCash Account plus the optional tip'.dave.com |
| Late fee | $0.00 | ExtraCash doesn't have any late fees or interest.support.dave.com |
| ExtraCash account inactivity fee | $5.00 | If you have not made a withdrawal from, or a deposit to, your ExtraCash Account for twelve (12) months or more, we may assess a $5.00 inactivity fee, per month, for each subsequent month of continued inactivity, unless prohibited by applicable law.dave.com |
| Fees apply per transfer when a limit is split | see quote | Your total ExtraCash limit consists of up to 2 individual “ExtraCash” transfers. You may be eligible to take both, one at a time on the same day, but overdraft and express fees apply to each transaction.support.dave.com |
What other amounts cost
Repaid in 14 days, with any membership counted for one month. Small advances cost the most per dollar: a fee that doesn’t shrink with the amount weighs more on $25 than on $200. Blank cells mean Dave doesn’t publish that price.
| Advance | Instant | APR | If you wait | APR |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $25.00 | $10.00 | 1,043% | $10.00 | 1,043% |
| $50.00 | $10.00 | 521% | $10.00 | 521% |
| $100.00 | $10.00 | 261% | $10.00 | 261% |
| $150.00 | $12.50 | 217% | $12.50 | 217% |
| $200.00 | $15.00 | 196% | $15.00 | 196% |
| $300.00 | $20.00 | 174% | $20.00 | 174% |
| $500.00 | $30.00 | 156% | $30.00 | 156% |
Limits, eligibility and repayment
- Maximum
- $500.00 ExtraCash amounts range from $25-$500, typically authorized within 5 minutes, with an overdraft fee equal to the greater of $5 or 5%. Multiple overdrafts may be required. Not all members qualify for ExtraCash and few qualify for $500. dave.com
- To start
- Not all members qualify for ExtraCash and few qualify for $500. dave.com
- Who can get it
- Must open an ExtraCash overdraft deposit account and Dave Checking account. Help centre: Settling your prior ExtraCash transfers on time and in full, maintaining a positive balance and having recurring deposits in your linked bank account can be positive factors. support.dave.com
- Credit check
- No, per its own pages Dave does not require a credit check at any point. dave.com
- Repayment
- Your settlement date is set to be around your next payday, or the nearest Friday, to make sure you have funds available. If your connected accounts don't have enough funds, Dave will transfer partial settlements until your settlement is completed. (Footer: 'ExtraCash is repayable on demand.') support.dave.com
- Interest
- There's no interest, credit check, or late fees! There is an overdraft service fee of $5 or 5% of the transfer, which is much lower than traditional bank fees, and an optional 1.5% express fee to external debit cards. support.dave.com
- Bank connection
- Plaid When you connect your external bank account via Plaid, it may take some time to review your transaction history. support.dave.com
- Works with Cash App
- Listed as not supported Note that Dave currently doesn't support PayPal, American Express, Discover, Cash App, Credit Karma, credit cards, most prepaid cards, or shared bank accounts. support.dave.com
Worth knowing
- Dave publishes the membership only as “up to $5” a month; we count $5, the most the terms allow.
- The 5% overdraft fee applies to every ExtraCash transfer, whatever the speed. A limit taken as two transfers pays the fee twice.
- Dave’s current ExtraCash agreement doesn’t mention tips; an older agreement still on its site does.
Regulatory actions
From official sources only. A complaint states allegations; it is not a finding.
- Mayor and City Council of Baltimore (Baltimore City Department of Law) (complaint): Baltimore sued Dave under the City's Consumer Protection Ordinance. It alleges that ExtraCash Advances are marketed as 'earned wage access' or 'overdraft services' but carry 'overdraft' fees that give no overdraft protection. It also alleges that Dave induced 'tips' for children's meals while passing only pennies on the dollar to charity. The City says total costs routinely exceed 10 times Maryland's 33% maximum consumer-loan APR. Status: Dave removed the case to the U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland (No. 1:26-cv-00369, filed 2026-01-29). The court denied the City's motion to remand on 2026-08-18, and Dave moved to dismiss on 2026-10-08. Pending as of that date (CourtListener). Source
- U.S. Department of Justice (on referral from the FTC) (amended complaint): The FTC referred the case to DOJ, which filed a first amended complaint. It names co-founder and CEO Jason Wilk as a defendant and seeks civil penalties. The allegations are the same: misleading 'up to $500' and instant-cash claims, an undisclosed express fee, and 'tips' that it says total hundreds of millions of dollars. The complaint also says Dave donates just 10 cents per tip percentage toward meals. Status: As of 2026-10-22 (CourtListener docket): the court denied the defendants' motion to dismiss the amended complaint on 2025-09-12 (Dkt. 75). Defendants answered with a jury demand on 2025-10-10. A trial order of 2025-11-14 set the final pretrial conference for 2026-11-09, but deadlines were reset by an order of 2026-10-06 whose new dates are not visible on the free docket. Discovery motions were active through Oct 2026. There is no settlement or judgment. Source
- FTC (complaint): FTC sued Dave in the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California (No. 2:24-cv-09566). It alleged that Dave used 'up to $500' advertising when it offered $500 only a tiny percentage of the time. It also alleged that Dave charged an 'Express Fee' of $3 to $25 for instant delivery that was not disclosed until after sign-up, charged so-called 'tips' (often 15% of the advance) without consent, and did not clearly disclose its $1 monthly membership fee. The claims are under the FTC Act and ROSCA. The Commission voted 4-1 to file. Status: Pending as of the last docket entry seen (2026-10-22). The FTC case page (last updated 2024-12-30) lists it as 'Pending'. See the next entry for the DOJ amended complaint and later court events. Source
Close to Dave on cost
Tilt Cash Advance (formerly Empower)
$8.00 · 209% APR
Klover Balance Advance
$9.49 · 247% APR
Grid Cash Advance
$12.99 · 339% APR
FloatMe Float
$14.49 · 378% APR
Sources for this page
- dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- apps.apple.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- support.dave.com — Dave’s own page, checked Nov 8, 2026
- Mayor and City Council of Baltimore (Baltimore City Department of Law), Dec 30, 2025 — complaint
- U.S. Department of Justice (on referral from the FTC), Dec 30, 2024 — amended complaint
- FTC, Nov 5, 2024 — complaint
How costs are calculated, what is left out and how to send a correction: methodology.
Cite this page
Best Cash Advance Apps. "Dave ExtraCash: the true cost of a $100 advance." Updated November 8, 2026. https://bestcashadvanceapps.com/apps/dave/